Kaahumanu Society, 1912.


On the 14th of this month, the yearly meeting of the Kaahumanu Society was held, and the Officers and Executive Board were chosen, thusly:

Miss L. K. Peabody, President

Mrs. Maria Hoapili, Vice President

Mrs. Mary Adam, Treasurer

Mrs. Ihilani Teehua, Vice Treasurer

Mrs. Lahilahi Webb, Secretary

Miss Grace Kahoalii, Vice Secretary

Mrs. Ellen Dwight, Auditor

Mrs. Lilia K. Aholo, Sick Committee

Mrs. Maria Smith, land administrator [? Kahu Aina]


Mrs. Mary Beckley.

Mrs. Irene Holloway.

Mrs. Alice Colbun [? Colburn]

Mrs. Kalai Fan.

Mrs. Abizail [Abigail] Hopkins.

Mrs. Deborah Kamanoulu.

Mrs. Lizzie Ulunahele.

Mrs. Emilia Leal.

(Aloha Aina, 6/22/1912, p. 4)


Ke Aloha Aina, Buke XVII, Helu 25, Aoao 4. Iune 22, 1912.

2 thoughts on “Kaahumanu Society, 1912.

  1. Most interesting a lot of historical information. I am a Life Member and reading all this information has really informed me on the beginning of the Ahahui and will like to share it with our present Ahahui members whom I am sure would be most interested in this information.

    • I am happy that someone thinks this information is important! The Kaahumanu Society appears, as you would expect, all over the Hawaiian-Language Newspapers. The posted articles are but a tiny fraction of all that is available.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s