Islands of Hawaii nei, 1897.

The Hawaiian Archipelago.

Outside of the islands of Hawaii, Maui, Oahu, Kauai, Lanai, Molokai, Kahoolawe, Niihau, Lehua and Kaula, that we are used to seeing as a part of what in Hawaiian is called “Ko Hawaii Pae Aina,” [The Hawaiian Archipelago], there are other islands included in that group.

The island of Nihoa (Bird Island) became part of Hawaii nei in 1822. This “annexation” [“hoohui aina”] was carried out by Kuhina Kaahumanu. “Keolaloa” (Capt. William Sumner) was the captain of the ship sent to carryout this task.

The island of Laysan became a Hawaiian territory [kalana aina Hawaii] on the 1st of May, 1857, and on the 10th in that same year, the island of Lisianski was joined into the Nation of Kamehameha by Captain Keoni Peti (John Paty). Continue reading